HVAC Lead Generation: 16 Ways to Generate HVAC Leads

HVAC Lead Generation Ways to Get HVAC Leads

How to Generate Leads for Your HVAC Business

Lead generation for HVAC companies remains a top priority because you’d have off-months where HVAC jobs will be scarce. 

Then the leads you’ve generated over time will help you to stay afloat with regular maintenance and installation jobs before the peak months kick in. 

There are diverse HVAC lead generation strategies that you can leverage to reach more potential clients. We’ll walk you through each of them so that you can learn how to generate qualified leads fast. 

__________Start of an Ad

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Positive testimonials from hvac companies to hvacmarketingxperts agency

What makes “Hvac Marketing Xperts” the best lead generation company for Hvac businesses?

We Guarantee Minimum 300k In New Customer Revenue – Or You Don’t Pay

Contact us to get more customers for your HVAC company. 

___________End of an Ad

Online Advertising – PPC and Social Ads

Hvac online advertising

Online advertising can help to accelerate the lead-generation process and get quick results in a short time.

They include:

PPC (Pay Per Click)

Hvac PPC

You’ve probably come across sponsored posts in Google search results; four posts at the top and the others in between.

These ads or sponsored posts are called Google PPC or Pay Per Click ads. They are the most popular PPC ads and as the name suggests, you’d pay a fee for each click on your ad.

It works like an auction-based system where advertisers bid on keywords relevant to their target audience then Google picks the winner based on the bid amount, expected click-through rate, relevance, and landing page user experience.

However, Google PPC can be expensive especially when you’re targeting general keywords with much competition like “HVAC repairs”. There are other PPC ads on different platforms like Meta, Microsoft, Titok, and YouTube which you can also use.

These ads can either appear as search results, banners (display), or video ads. You would have to set an average CPC(cost per click) and the maximum amount you are willing to pay for each click.  

The best option here is to target only HVAC SEO keywords around the area you serve so you don’t waste your ad spend.

Social Media Ads 

HVAC Social Media Ads

Social media platforms are a big powerhouse when it comes to lead generation for HVAC companies. Mostly because of the 4.89 billion people that spend over 2 hours per day on social platforms and the fact that it cuts across a wide demographic. 

However, social media ads differ from PPC in the area of targeted campaigns. As it allows you to narrow down your ads to capture leads in a certain demographic, job type, interests, etc. Although it still works on the cost-per-click model the ads are more niched than PPC.

A good place to start is Facebook because the majority of homeowners are on the platform and you can build custom audiences and retarget users who have previously engaged with your ads.

Quick advice: high-quality content; visuals and most importantly videos pull the most engagement and leads for social media ads.

In addition, try to improve your social media presence before launching social media ad campaigns as it will complement your efforts because your audience is already aware of your company.

Local Service Ads (LSA)

Local service ads (LSAs) are ads provided by Google specifically for service-based businesses targeting local customers. It is quite similar to PPC only that you pay per lead, meaning that you’d pay when you receive a phone call or message via the ad.

LSA usually appears at the top of search results even before PPC ads and is displayed with Google verified licensed badge, star reviews, working hours, and business location. These ads are similar to the organic local three-pack except that they are paid for and the HVAC company is verified by Google.

Local service ads are tied to a particular area making it a gold mine of lead generation for HVAC companies if it is well optimized.

When setting up LSA you’d be asked to provide basic business details and set an estimated budget for the number of leads you want to get in a week. Then you will have to wait for a week or more for Google to verify your business.

Also, your reviews in Google Business Profile are included in your local service profile. Which makes it easier to run local service ads when you’ve set up your HVAC Google Business Profile.

Websites, Landing Pages and Funnels

website-banner-imgApart from paid ads, HVAC lead generation can be done with your business website and landing pages. Your HVAC website, landing page, and funnels are interdependent in the lead generation process.

First of all, optimize your website for SEO by creating content around HVAC keywords then insert a lead magnet or sign-up form in your website pages with a special offer like a discount or ebook.

Similarly, stage a specific landing page for your paid ads or lead magnets to qualify and attract prospects at any level of your sales funnel.

After getting their contact details, nurture the leads with personalized email campaigns and offer incentives to get them to book a service at the end of the campaign. 

Consequently, use your Google Analytics and CRM tools to track lead sources, conversion rates, and customer behavior. This data will help you identify areas for improvement and optimize your strategies over time.

Search Engine Optimization (HVAC SEO)

Hvac seo image

SEO can be a turn-key lead generation for HVAC companies. It can give you hundreds of prospects monthly in the form of web traffic. 

However, it takes a lot of time and marketing efforts to rank for top HVAC keywords. Hence, start with keywords that have lower competition(low to medium traffic) and long-tail keywords

Also, ensure you update your blog regularly targeting these keywords–optimizing the meta titles, headings, images, content, etc. Remember to create an individual service or product page for each of your offerings so you can show up more on organic search results.

For the backend part of your strategy, invest in link-building, website speed, technical SEO, structured data, and so on. 

SEO is the swiss-army knife of lead generation for HVAC companies and combining it with paid ads can explode your lead funnels. But it is like a marathon, and only a consistent HVAC company can outlast and outrank the competitors. 

Local SEO for HVAC Companies

Local SEO should be a no-brainer for HVAC companies because your business operates within certain locations. It is probably the easiest way to get soon-to-be clients because the competition is less and prospects need a company in their locality.

You can attract quality HVAC leads from local SEO by doing the following:

  • Create content like blog posts or YouTube videos focused on local keywords that your prospects use to find your business e.g “Furnace repair in Pittsburg Kansas
  • Optimize your Google Business Profile with local keywords. Ensure your profile is complete and updated regularly. Then encourage your customers to leave a review after each service.
  • Build citations in various online directories like HomeAdvisor to get more leads.
  • Set up a local website or landing page to target prospects in the locations you serve.

Hvac Social Media Marketing

Hvac social media marketing 2

Social Media platforms are where the bulk of your prospects gather and you’d be missing out on a lot of leads if you only focus on your website. 

Naturally, you would want to spread your resources on different social platforms simultaneously. This can be counterproductive for a small or growing HVAC company. Because you might not have the staff or expertise to keep up with so many social platforms.

Therefore, promote your business on one social platform like Instagram and a video platform like YouTube. When you gain sufficient following you can then allocate resources to other platforms.

Social media marketing can help you reach out to your target customers by posting educational content regularly. Try to diversify your content with branded images, carousels, videos, infographics, customer testimonials, etc. 

Every day shouldn’t be a wall of uptight text with no emojis or emotional elements–an HVAC meme can even drive more engagement.

Furthermore, place a booking button, customer reviews, and website URL on your page so that your prospects can easily look up your business.

Gated Content 

gated content
Image Credits: Popup Smart

Gated content is a form of online content that is accessible only to people who have been granted access by the publisher. It is often used to protect premium content from being accessed by people who are not willing to pay for it. 

Your HVAC-gated content should be targeted at the bottom funnel leads. These are your loyal customers or leads that are at the consideration stage. 

You can use gated content to get quality customers that are genuinely invested in your business. However, the premium content needs to be valuable enough for your prospects to pay for it. 

The HVAC-gated content could be troubleshooting guides, installation guides, educational resources, and additional perks like service discounts exclusively for insiders.

Content Upgrades

Image Credits: Formidable Forms

Content upgrades are a great way to increase the value of your blog posts and keep your readers engaged. 

They are a type of content offer that provides additional value to your readers in exchange for their email addresses. You can use content upgrades to provide checklists, guides, or a worksheet.

Follow these steps to set up a content upgrade:

  • Find the best-performing blog posts on your site or common questions your customers ask and build content around them. These topics should have the potential for deeper exploration.
  • Create relevant actionable upgrades like checklists, templates, or guides related to specific HVAC tasks or challenges. It could be an energy bill calculator app.
  • Integrate the upgrades in your blog posts with actionable CTA or visually appealing opt-in forms or pop-ups.

Email Marketing Opt-ins and Lead Magnets

Hvac email optins

Email marketing is one of the best methods of HVAC lead generation because it is cost-effective and your prospects genuinely want to hear from you.

Most of the leads you get from other sources will primarily provide their emails. Now, it is your job to nurture the leads so they can slide down your sales funnel. Before that, you would have to create an opt-in form together with a lead magnet.

To further manage your lists, you can provide a checkbox so they can choose the type of content they want to receive. Plus, a double opt-in to confirm their subscription.

After that, you can segment your lists using your Email Service Provider and start your email campaigns.

Referral Programs

Hvac Referral Marketing Image

In referral programs, you will have to incentivize a loyal customer to talk about your great HVAC services. The incentive can be a gift card, free service, or product; whatever would motivate your customers to convince their friends and family members to use your services.

It’s more like the traditional word-of-mouth strategy except that you are offering a package for promoting your business. 

Ensure you publicize your referral programs aggressively on all your marketing channels. Make it easy for your customers to join by providing clear instructions and a simple way for customers to submit referrals.

You can spice up your referral program by including a choice of rewards or tier rewards for the number of referrals. 

Customer Loyalty Programs

A customer loyalty program is a marketing strategy designed to encourage customers to repeatedly engage with your business. This is achieved by offering rewards and perks to customers who make purchases, interact with your brand, or refer others. 

Customer loyalty programs are a double-fold win because they strengthen customer relationships and they in turn bring in new prospects.

In addition, customer loyalty programs can help in lead generation for HVAC companies because the loyal customers would turn to advocates who will promote your business.

Some examples of customer loyalty programs include points, tiered, and subscription programs.

Partnerships with Contractors

Hvac Paid Partnerships

As an HVAC company, it pays to have the contacts of several contractors in the locations you operate in. They are the ones who know about the newly built or renovated buildings that would need HVAC installations.

To network and meet with contractors, follow these steps:

  • Attend industry events, trade shows, and contractor association meetings to connect with potential partners.
  • Host workshops or webinars on relevant HVAC topics that can attract contractors and showcase your expertise.
  • Build personalized relationships with key decision-makers within construction companies and plumbing businesses.

After connecting with building contractors, showcase your expertise and why the partnership would be beneficial to both parties. Both companies can run joint marketing promotions as a full-service program.

Offer Free Workshops or Webinars

Offering free workshops or webinars are another effective HVAC lead generation strategies you could leverage. Who wouldn’t want to attend a free webinar on saving energy costs on HVAC systems? Or a workshop on how to maintain HVAC appliances to save costs and extend the life span. 

From these free workshops or webinars, you can get a list of fresh leads that you can market to. Also, use your marketing channels to promote your webinars. Leverage the program to promote your HVAC company and the services you offer–it should be a passive sales pitch, don’t push it.

Attend Local Events and Trade Shows

Lastly, attend local events and trade shows to meet up with new prospects. Exchange business cards and discuss at length about things that matter to them without bringing in a sales pitch.

You can turn your participation into qualified leads by doing the following:

  • Target the right events: Focus on events relevant to your target audience. Choose trade shows focused on home improvement, construction, or local community gatherings. 
  • Develop a lead capture system: Have a system for collecting contact information, such as a sign-up sheet, digital lead capture form, or QR code for easy registration. Offer incentives for signing up, like discounts or free consultations.

Summary: How to Generate HVAC Leads

Perhaps, there are several HVAC lead generation ideas running through your mind right now. Don’t burden yourself and your employees with all of them. 

Start with a few lead generation strategies like website optimization and local SEO, and work your way to the top. 

Sure, you will meet a lot of stumbling blocks on your journey but don’t let them put you down; pick up lessons from them and keep going until you get to the point where you have diverse HVAC lead generation channels actively onboarding new clients. 

Now get to work, we are rooting for you.

We Guarantee Minimum 300k In New Customer Revenue – Or You Don’t Pay

Contact us to get more customers for your HVAC company. 

Read More:

Profitable, Scalable HVAC Lead Generation

Our Lead Generation experts have plenty of hands-on HVAC SEO experience. And they utilize it to devise as well as execute proven lead generation techniques! HVAC Marketing Xperts develop progressive and innovative digital marketing strategies to bring visitors to your business websites and convert them into qualified leads and prospects.

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Retainer vs PPL

There are 2 primary HVAC lead generation options for contractors. While you can avail both with us, your decision should be based on proper information about HVAC SEO Services. We’ve shed some light on this below.

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Pros/Cons of Pay Per Lead

Scalable & Simple

Can scale rapidly (100s of leads/week)

Can list the criteria of a lead (size of home, etc)

Extremely simple deliverable - LEADS

Best for owners looking to scale quickly with a sizeable ad budget ($3,000-$5,000 minimum)

You don't own any marketing assets used

Need to have extremely strong sales team

HVAC Lead Generation

Build Trust In Your Brand

Go online at the earliest and get customers to engage with your business because digital marketing is the way to go.

Generate leads, bring traffic to your website, and get quick results and big profits.

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Frequently Asked Questions

Sales Questions

What is your pricing?

Our pricing varies based on what we’ll be completing for your business. However, our HMX Boost Program currently starts at $1,297/mo

Is there a requirement on the current size of my company for your services?

This is a great question, as a rule of thumb, we’ve found the companies with the highest degree of success with our services are generating a minimum of $350,000/yr in revenue. However, this is not a requirement. 

Do you offer any guarantees?

Great question, we do offer multiple guarantees based on which services we’re providing for you, this includes positive keyword ranking guarantees for SEO, timeline guarantees website design, and PPC. 

Will I be locked into a long term service contract?

We get this question a LOT. We don’t lock you into a long term contract for any of our services. However, we do offer massive discounts on our services if you’d like to opt-in to a longer term agreement (minimum 3 months). 

What other services do you provide?

Great question, yes, our main services include:

  • HMX Program**
  • SEO (Organic & Maps)
  • Website Design
  • Google Ads (PPC, LSA, GDN)
  • Reputation Management 
  • Lead-Nurturing & Database Reactivation
  • Retargeting (FB, Google, YT)
  • Social Media Management

**Our “HMX Accelerator Program” include each of our core services bundled into one incredible offer at a price your jaw will drop at. Check it out here (link)

Can you tell me a bit more about the team(s) doing the work on my accounts?

This is an awesome question, as of now, we have 25 dedicated in-house team members. 

 

The primary focus of our team is centered around SEO, content/web development, graphics, and paid ad campaigns. 

 

Another aspect of our team is we have a dedicated portion of them 100% dedicated to HVAC campaigns for our clients, so you can rest assured that your business branding, growth, and marketing is in the hands of experts. 

What should my budget be for marketing? Is that something you can help with?

Great question, yes. Your marketing budget should be allocated according to your growth-goals. 

 

For the sake of simplicity, lets say that you were currently doing 500k/year and wanted grow aggressively to double that in 2021 to 1M/year. 

 

What we recommend is allocating at least 12-15% of your total revenue on marketing, then 70% of the total marketing budget allocated to digital marketing. 

 

The math would go as follows:

Yearly marketing budget: $500,000 * 12% = 60,000/yr

 

Monthly budget: $60,000/12 months = $5,000/mo 

 

Utilizing a $5,000 ad budget, we’ve been able to generate some of our HVAC clients an additional $50-100k/mo in revenue, a 10x ROI!

 

Click the link below to get our HMX budget planning guide. 

 

Content Marketing Questions

Who do we work with ?

HVAC/Plumbing Companies doing over 30k per month in revenue

What is content marketing?

content marketing can be narrowed down to a few main points:

 

  • Earning trust with potential clients through teaching
  • Giving your potential clients great information to solve their problems
  • Listening to your clients’ questions and providing honest, transparent answers to those questions

Similarly to what we’re doing with HVAC Marketing Xperts, giving your customers honest, insightful information that helps them (without immediately trying to sell them) helps build an extraordinary amount of trust and also increases your brand image. 

 

We recommend our clients take time to write content alongside our efforts because the more your own customers view you as the authority in your market, the more you’ll dominate. 

What is the ROI on content marketing?

Great question, while there isn’t a clear answer on this, there are numerous statistics, case studies and books dedicated to this topic, I will reference some of them in my points below.

In order to break down the ROI of your content marketing efforts, its important to have two things in place: detailed tracking & analytics, and the realistic timelines involved.

The book “They Ask, You Answer” breaks down the phases of content marketing like so:

  1. Months 1-3: Publish content addressing the top questions your sales team is receiving. This should be implemented in the sales process (asking customer to review specific questions) once its written
  2.  Months 2-3: Get indexed by search engines. Even if you have a relatively new website, by building consistent content that people are looking at will cause your rankings to increase on Google for those specific topics. The content must be: consistent, and valuable
  3. Months 3-6: Leads start coming in. Once your content & website is being indexed on search engines, customers will inevitably (as long as you have a conversion focused website) begin to fill out forms and call you as leads.
  4. Months 4-18: The snowball is rolling down the hill. Once you’ve been consistently creating weekly, or bi-weekly content that customers have been engaging with, search engines have noticed, and have provided value to the market. You will be drowning in leads and sales that have come in organically. This brings us to the ROI section. 

In order to accurately gauge the ROI from content marketing, tracking should be put in place before beginning the campaign. This way you can tell how many accumulated leads came in post-content writing compared to before. 

Is content marketing just used for SEO?

Great question, while content marketing is a huge part of SEO, it can also be used in every other facet of marketing. Things like landing pages, funnels, independent social media posts, etc all rely on utilizing valuable content for your customers. 

Do you have a content writing team? If so, do you recommend we outsource 100% of our content to you?

Great question, yes and no.

While we have a great in-house content team that will handle many aspects of your content, the development of the best content will always come from you. 

 

Why is that? Because you know your business and individual markets better than we do. Based on that, I highly recommend that you integrate content creation into your daily activities, there are many simple ways to do this. For guidance on this, take a look at our blog post on how to smoothly integrate content creation into your business (link). 

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We Offer Everything You Need to Accelerate Your Business

Retainer Based Model

Comprehensive & Long-Term

You own 100% of the assets we build for you (website, funnels, pages, etc)

Pay a flat-fee every month (no surprises)

Best for companies looking to hedge their business growth across multiple rev-streams

Slower than getting 100% leads sent to you

Can be annoying paying monthly retainer

hvac lead generation agency in my area
Get Hvac Leads

HVAC Leads Stats

Insightful Content Marketing Stats

Around 95% of the leads are generated through online marketing campaigns, which is why you need to focus on SEO and SMM immediately.

More than 97% of the leads of HVAC companies are local, which means that you need to invest more in local SEO.

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Let's Build Your
Sales Machine


Case Study Testimonials

HVAC Marketing Xperts has helped dozens of businesses like yours to create comprehensive HVAC marketing systems that has brought some clients a 10x return on investment in month 3!

27 LEADS IN JUST 3 DAYS OF STARTING CAMPAIGN
ADDED $60,000 TO HIS BOTTOM LINE IN MONTH 1
4 NEW CHANGE OUTS IN FIRST MONTH THANFUL I CHOOSE HMX
WITH HMX, THE RISK IS LOW AND REWARDS ARE HIGH
CLOSED 9 NEW HVAC INSTALLATIONS HIS FIRST MONTH IN BUSINESS USING HMX SYSTEM
BOOSTED MY WEB TRAFFIC OVER 250% SINCE LAST YEAR!!
WHEN LEADS TURNS INTO SALES

If you own an HVAC company and you’re having trouble staying busy, You probably have an outdated way of getting new clients. You no longer have to rely on a Home advisor or Angie’s list!

We have a system in place to get Install Inquiries on autopilot even while you sleep.

SAY “NO MORE” TO:
What we provide.

Customer Data Management

Streamline your business by organizing your customer credentials and orders through Customer Management Tool. Automate your lead nurturing process and follow an efficient workflow system.
HMX Customer Management Tool
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Lead into a paying customer

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Appointments scheduled on your calendar .

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HOW DOES IT WORK?
STEP ONE 2
STEP ONE

Choose your service Location

STEP tow 2
STEP TWO

We target all the homeowners in the service area

STEP THREE 2
STEP THREE

Position your company in front of those homeowners

STEP FOUR 2
STEP FOUR

We get the Potentials Leads

STEP FIVE 2
STEP FIVE

Turn lead into estimate appointment.

STEP six 2
STEP SIX

You show up and close the deal and get paid.

Frequently Asked Questions

Sales Questions

What is your pricing?

Our pricing varies based on what we’ll be completing for your business. However, our primary HMX Accelerator Program currently starts at $1,797/mo

Is there a requirement on the current size of my company?

This is a great question, as a rule of thumb, we’ve found the companies with the highest degree of success with our services are generating a minimum of $350,000/yr in revenue. However, this is not a requirement. 

Do you offer any guarantees?

Great question, we do offer multiple guarantees based on which services we’re providing for you, this includes positive keyword ranking guarantees for SEO, timeline guarantees website design, and PPC. 

Will I be locked into a long term service contract?

We get this question a LOT. We don’t lock you into a long term contract for any of our services. However, we do offer massive discounts on our services if you’d like to opt-in to a longer term agreement (minimum 3 months). 

How soon will I see results from lead generation?

Great question, we can have a new funnel built for your offer and generating leads in as little as 7 days. 

What other services do you provide?

Great question, yes, our main services include:

  • HMX Program**
  • SEO (Organic & Maps)
  • Website Design
  • Google Ads (PPC, LSA, GDN)
  • Reputation Management 
  • Lead-Nurturing & Database Reactivation
  • Retargeting (FB, Google, YT)
  • Social Media Management

**Our “HMX Accelerator Program” include each of our core services bundled into one incredible offer at a price your jaw will drop at. Check it out here (link)

Lead Generation Questions

Who do we work with ?

HVAC/Plumbing Companies doing over 30k per month in revenue

Are the leads you provide exclusive?

This is a great question, yes the leads we generate for your business are 100% exclusive to you. 

How soon will I see results from lead generation (retainer and PPL)?

Great question, if we don’t currently have a lead gen funnel built for your offer + lead criteria, we can have one built and a campaign generating leads in as little as 7 days. 

What is the closing rate on your leads?

Great question, we’ve found this answer varies depending on the company we’re selling the leads to. We’ve tested splitting a batch of leads into two and sending them to different companies (not the same leads), and the company with: 

  • Stronger brand presence
  • More comprehensive sales process
  • Competitive financing 
  • Extensive closing experience

Were the contractors who were closing between 40-50% of the leads we sent to them. Your closing rate will ultimately depend on those above factors. 

What are the pros/cons of retainer vs PPL?

Great question. 

Pros:

  • More cost effective 
  • We’re doing more work-per-dollar for you (website design, SEO, rep. mgmt, lead gen, etc)
  • We’re developing assets for your business that you own 100%
  • The results of our work will continue to generate high-quality leads even if we decide to part ways after 12+ months
  • Highest quality leads come from SEO & organic 
  • Helps build your business brand alongside lead-gen

Cons:

  • There is a monthly retainer fee
  • Because SEO is extremely confusing to some, it can be hard to tell exactly what we’re doing in the beginning (we’ve developed detailed reporting to mitigate this)
  • Not as transparent as pay-per-lead (mentioned above)
  • More time-intensive in the beginning

The pay-per-lead model flips the retainer model around with the company accepting most of the up-front risk in exchange for a flat rate on an agreed upon number of leads per week. 

 

Pros: 

  • Extremely simple pricing 
  • Client has minimal risk
  • Very scalable/profitable with a strong sales team in place
  • Can request massive amounts of leads for larger sales organizations

Cons:

 

  • Client doesn’t own any of the lead generation assets used by company (funnels, ad accounts, pixels, etc)
  • Requires higher budget
  • Requires client has a very broad service area (usually region-wide or state-wide) for affordable CPL
  • Need to be able to handle a lot of leads
What do you recommend a newer HVAC company do (retainer vs PPC)?

As a general rule, we usually recommend to first build up a strong organic online presence (which we can achieve with the retainer model) before moving into PPL. Doing this will not only increase your closing rate (on avg), but also give you a steadily increasing flow of leads by which to build a strong foundation before rapidly scaling. 

 

However, if your company is larger (5m+) and has the budget to spend on leads to feed your sales team, pay per lead is the way to go. 

How do you calculate your cost per lead?

Great question, it will depend on what kind of leads we’re going to be generating for you (HVAC install leads/service leads/duct replacement/etc). 

The primary calculation we use for our lead costs is as follows:

  • Work out the Average Order Value (AOV). Ex. A converted lead could be worth $3,000 in a particular instance.
  • Divide the AOV by 3. ($3,000/3 = $1,000)
  • Figure out the 5% conversion rate (5/100 x $1,000 = $50)
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